OenoWatch InfoDay

July 15, 2023
Christos Dimopoulos

CERIDES is happy to announce the successful implementation of project OenoWatch InfoDay at the Vouni Oenology Center on the 11th of July 2023. The InfoDay attracted considerable attention by vine growers, wine producers and stakeholders from the wine industry communities of the region.

The agenda of the event included:
Presentation of the project and its results by ANELEM, EUROSUCCESS, and EUC Research Center
Project piloting with a drone flight in a vineyard, implemented by DRONINT
Open discussion between all participants, focusing on the long-term sustainability and exploitation of the OenoWatch results after the end of the project.

At the end of the InfoDay activities, the participants attended a small reception, during which they had the opportunity to perform wine tasting on local wines produced in the region of Vouni.

CERIDES, on behalf of E.U.C. Research Center, acts as the Coordinator for the implementation of the project. Like and follow the project’s dissemination outlets in order to receive frequent updates regarding the project’s progress and activities





The aim of the OenoWatch project is to study, develop, implement and pilot a holistic phytosanitary and plant protection system based on the use of unmanned aerial vehicles and a series of cutting-edge technologies, as well as the establishment of a Competence Center for Precision Viticulture.

The Consortium of the OenoWatch project includes the Technical University of Cyprus (CUT), the consulting, services & training organization ‘DRONINT’’, the consulting, & training organization EUROSUCCESS Consulting, the Development Agency of Lemesos, as well as the Cypriot Winery Ekfraseis.

Dr. Christos Dimopoulos, co-Director of CERIDES, acts as the Project Coordinator of OenoWatch.

The OenoWatch Technical Team of CERIDES consists of:

Professor George Boustras (Research fellow – Senior Advisor)
Dr. Konstantinos Katzis (Research Fellow)
Dr. Pericles Cheng (Research Fellow)
Ms. Christiana Ioannou (Research Fellow)
Mr. Christoforos Kyriacou (Research Fellow)
Mr. Michalis Yerolemou (Research Fellow)